Go Sew Yourself in 2013!

January is just flying by, but unfortunately it’s not because I’m having fun. January is the worst month of every year for me for many reasons; some are too personal to share, but I can say that January is always cloudy, bitterly cold, dreadful, and boring. January is when we pick up the wreckage from Christmas and plunge into the cold shock of a new year. It’s too cold to go anywhere, so we end up spending a lot of time indoors and missing out on much-needed sunlight. No wonder January is so awful! This year has been especially terrible with the flu epidemic. Many of my friends and family members are sick or have been sick with the flu this year.

That said, why not make the most out of being stuck indoors with nothing special to do? January is the perfect time to sew!

As I mentioned in my previous post, my current project is a modern baby quilt. So far, I’ve cut out all the fabric and I’ve started assembling the quilt top. I cut some of it incorrectly and had to order a replacement piece from Fresh Squeezed Fabrics. It was an unfortunate mistake and it slowed the project down, but I got another lovely matryoshka doll pin!

Here’s what I’ve done so far.

modernbabyquilt1

So far, so good. There will be a long vertical piece of green jungle vine fabric between those two sections. I’m basing the design on a quilt I saw here. The baby’s mother liked the design, so I decided to make a similar quilt as a gift and as a way for me to try something different. I’m not a huge fan of modern quilts, but I still appreciate the fresh non-traditional designs.

I’ve also spent the past month or so thinking about what to blog about in 2013. I’ll continue to cover my sewing projects, and I want to do some more reviews for sewing patterns and books about sewing and fashion.

Here’s this year’s goal/project list so far. I may add to it or cancel projects if they don’t work out.

  • Modern baby quilt
  • Kaleidoscope quilt for our guest room
  • Easter dress for my daughter
  • Various blouses for myself: a rayon challis pintuck blouse (using a modern pattern for a semi-vintage style), a dressy floral blouse (using a modern pattern for a semi-vintage style), and (if I’m feeling brave enough) a 1950s surplice blouse
  • Pink robot top or dress for my daughter
  • Flannel dress for my daughter
  • Some type of tiered skirt or dress for my daughter using fabric that has matryoshka dolls printed on it (why am I so drawn to these things now?!)
  • Refitting several garments I have previously completed or nearly completed (see below)
  • Special top secret geeky project for my husband (assuming I can finally conquer knit fabric!)

In addition to featuring my sewing projects — both as work-in-progress posts and overviews of the results — and posting the occasional opinion piece, I’d like to add a couple of new features.

I’m going to try to write more about modern and vintage fashion; specifically, I want to discuss not only modern fashion’s foibles but also what it does right and when it borrows from vintage looks.

Now that I have a dress form, I’m also going to go back and re-fit some of the dresses I’ve made in the past. This will also be an opportunity for me to correct sewing mistakes and to fix anything that’s sloppy in the garments.

Another idea I had for a feature is a series I call “delicious vintage.” I’ll take a single piece of vintage clothing from my collection and analyze its design and construction. I love looking at vintage clothing, and as a sewist, I enjoy breaking down a garment and seeing how it’s made! I thought this would be so much fun to do, and it turns out that sewing goddess Gertie already does this on her blog. I promise I’m not copying her! I didn’t realize that she does that from time to time, but it’s OK. Vintage clothing is a part of cultural history that deserves all the attention it can get!

Finally, I would like to write a bit about fitting as it relates to sewing garments and buying ready-to-wear. I’d also like to discuss body issues when possible. That subject can go far beyond the scope of my sewing blog, so I will stick to what is relevant here.

OK, I’m officially ready for 2013! Here we go!

0 Responses to “Go Sew Yourself in 2013!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


