Getting Organized

As I mentioned before, I needed to organize my sewing supplies now that we’ve moved into our new-old house. After picking up some nifty plastic containers and sorting through all the fabric, notions, supplies, and patterns that I’ve accumulated, I organized my neat little sewing corner. Someday it will be a sewing room, but first things first.

Let’s start with the before:

So many things are wrong here! Fabric and project components are crammed into awful plastic bags that slip and slide everywhere when I’m rummaging through the cabinet. Patterns and notions are piled into the drawer in a jumbled mess.

This is my sewing box, another jumbled heap. Smaller notions are crammed into a ziploc bag while larger ones roam free.

And now, the after.

It’s not perfect or even ideal, but it’s much better. I put fabric pieces into the plastic boxes and stood some large, flat pieces (e.g. interfacing) upright in between. Patterns are neatly stacked in the drawer, but I ran out of room so I had to put some in the lower section.

Side 1

OK, there’s a story with this little case. I went to a local Hancock Fabrics to see if I could find a little divided case for all my little sewing things, like needles, buttons, snaps, and grommets. I ended up choosing this one because it had a handle. It came down to something that simple! There were two of them, but I needed only one. When the cashier rang it up, the machine spit out a weird code. She turned to her supervisor and said something about it, and the supervisor said, “Well, let her have it.” She pressed a button and the case rang up for 1 cent.

Yup, you read that right. One penny!

Turns out the case had been discontinued and they were supposed to pull it off the shelf, but they didn’t. It technically couldn’t be rung up, so it defaulted to a penny. I handed over one shiny penny and walked toward the exit with my fabulous purchase.

Then I stopped, turned on my heel, and went to the back of the store and got the other case off the shelf! I paid them another shiny penny and came home with two of these awesome cases! They have divided sections with varying depths and extra dividers, a handle, and two sides for double the storage. The only drawback is that they are a little hard to open, but that’s OK. They cost me 2 cents!

Here’s the other side of it. I wrapped ribbon scraps around some empty thread spools and put little pieces of tape on the end. I love how the zippers fit neatly in the bottom section!

Side 2

I’ve only used one of them, but I may get the other one out soon and use it to organize my buttons.

Here’s one final shot of everything stacked up neatly in the corner of our dining room. I didn’t get a picture of the inside of the sewing box, but it’s no longer a jumbled mess. I had to use the sewing machine box to hold bags of fiberfill and other bulky items. I really need a bigger cabinet, but this will do for now.

Sewing corner - after

Categories


