Bonne année!

It’s 2012! I regret to say that I didn’t get much sewing done as 2011 wound down aside from my husband’s Halloween costume and starting some new curtains for my daughter’s room, but I had some very good reasons. After five years of searching, volunteering, worrying, and hoping, I finally landed the job I’ve been wanting for so long! I now work in a museum doing tours, reenactment, and education, and I’m very passionate about it. Of course, my new job has some sewing projects in store for me: lots of historical clothing!

Now that we’re homeowners, I’ve been trying to figure out how to organize all my sewing goods in the new place. I had to sell my old sewing storage area — a 1930s buffet — because it wouldn’t fit anywhere in our cute little 1920s bungalow. Instead, I’m going to use my great-grandmother’s century-old washstand. It will make a nice little sewing cabinet, but I do need to find some suitable containers for organizing my fabric stash, notions, and patterns inside it. I also need to sell off some of the bulky and unneeded things in my stash.

Speaking of patterns, I dropped by a chain fabric store the other day and found myself in the middle of a moving sale! Unfortunately, everything was very picked-over and the discounts were a measly 33%. I found a couple of bolts of fabric I liked, but 33% was not enough of a discount to convince me. The real treasure was in the pattern section! All of the patterns were going for 25 cents each, so I spent a good 45 minutes or so picking through the disorganized drawers. I ended up walking out with $200 worth of patterns for less than $3! I got eight of the Butterick retro reprint patterns and a couple of good curtain patterns. In addition to having some lovely things to sew up to wear to work, I also have patterns to make curtains that would be wonderful in my living room and dining room.

2012 certainly seems to have some good sewing in store for me. Though I’m not a fan of making resolutions or setting big goals, here’s what I would like to sew up in 2012.

  • 1880s/1890s day dress (for reenactment purposes at work)
  • 1950s day “housewife” dress and apron (for reenactment)
  • Some 1940s, 1950s, and 1960s blouses, skirts, and dresses to wear to work
  • A shirt for my daughter and a matching play purse using some adorable fabric that has pink robots on it
  • 1940s dressing gown/robe
  • Curtains galore!
  • Coordinating Easter dresses using 1940s patterns for myself and my daughter
  • 1860s dress (for reenactment)
  • Colonial dress (for reenactment)
Categories


