Yes, this is a sewing blog.

People keep saying that I should start a blog, so here it is. It’s actually something that I’ve been wanting to do for a while, but it helps to have friends cheering you on (or goading you).

One of the things I’d like to do on this blog is talk about my sewing projects. I tend to share pictures on Facebook and talk about my sewing online and offline, but I don’t have online space to talk at length about my work, so this blog seems to be a good medium for it.

Another thing I’d like to do is post some pattern reviews. I’ve always known that some patterns are better than others and I’ve always believed that commercial patterns are inherently superior to homemade ones. That belief has been challenged over the last several months, however. I’ve been finding weird flaws in commercial patterns — not just sections where I can do something differently and that makes it work better for me, but errors and poor design decisions.

My goal is be to blog from a different sort of perspective — one that’s honest and straightforward without all the fancy-pants artsy frippery you see on some sewing blogs. Nothing against them, but after reading through a lot of sewing blogs, they really start to run together in a cheerful brightly-colored smear of fancy fabric, neat stitches, and dreamy photographs. I would like to write candidly on certain aspects of sewing. I don’t know how far I’ll go with that. There are times that I want to outright snark on some of the idiocy, saccharine perfection, and weirdness I see in the sewing world and I’m not opposed to calling people out, but I don’t want to be mean and I dislike creating drama.

I might offend people with my approach, but that’s not part of my goal. If someone has that perfect fancy-pants artsy frippery life and they want to put it on the internet, that’s wonderful for them. I don’t have that kind of life. I don’t want to copy someone else or to make them feel bad because they aren’t like me. I just want to live my life, to be myself, and to go sew myself.

Categories


